1
1

Coops

Again and again, Patrik Muff works with brands that have nothing to do with jewellery per se but have exciting design expertise and master craftsmanship. These selective projects are both a challenge and an experiment. For Patrik Muff, this means that it is possible to supplement the strengths of two brands – and to test out the previous limitations in the use of a material such as porcelain. In such processes, the designer always finds inspiration and enriching impulses that directly influence his jewellery design.

Birkenstock

As a self-confessed Birkenstock wearer of more than 20 years, Patrik Muff has an affinity to the Rhineland-Palatinate manufacturer of emphatically “foot-friendly” shoes.
He therefore immediately agreed when the brand came to him in 2013 with a request to make clasps out of precious metals for a limited sandal edition. His unconditional aspiration? To raise the design to a new level. The Munich jewellery designer is also increasingly involved in the development of Birkenstock’s basic collections. Thus, he created imaginative clasps for children’s sandals or reduced the classic buckle to its minimum shape.

Nymphenburg

In the development of the jewellery collection with Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg that began in 2007, Patrik Muff is particularly fascinated by the collaboration with artisans
from an area that was previously foreign to him: Porcelain production is completely different from the forging of jewellery. For example, the design was carried out step-by-step in close cooperation with the manufactory’s master craftsmen – and, what remains a technical challenge in the processing of porcelain, in just one piece. The result are pendants in the form of coral branches, angel wings or kois: They combine the distinctive design language of the Munich jewellery designer with the unique material qualities and the sheer beauty of the “white gold”.

1
1

Coops

Immer wieder arbeitet Patrik Muff mit Marken zusammen, die per se nichts mit Schmuck zu tun haben, aber über eine für ihn spannende Designexpertise und meisterliche Handwerkskunst verfügen. Diese selektiven Projekte sind Herausforderung und Experiment zugleich: Denn für Patrik Muff liegt darin die Möglichkeit, die Stärken zweier Marken zu ergänzen – und die bisherigen Grenzen in der Verwendung eines Werkstoffs wie etwa Porzellan auszutesten. So findet der Designer in solchen Prozessen stets auch Inspiration und bereichernde Impulse, die seine Schmuckgestaltung unmittelbar beeinflussen.

Birkenstock

Dem Rheinland-Pfälzer Hersteller von betont „fußfreundlichen“ Schuhen ist Patrik Muff als bekennender Birkenstock-Träger schon über 20 Jahre verbunden.
So sagte er sofort zu, als die Marke 2013 mit der Bitte auf ihn zu kam, für eine limitierte Sandalenedition Schließen aus edlen Metallen zu gestalten. Sein unbedingter Anspruch? Die Gestaltung auf ein neues Level anzuheben. Auch in die Entwicklung der Basis-Kollektionen von Birkenstock wird der Münchner Schmuckdesigner immer stärker involviert. So kreierte er fantasievolle Schließen für Kindersandalen oder reduziert die klassische Schnalle auf ein Minimum in der Form.

Nymphenburg

An der Entwicklung der seit 2007 mit der Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg aufgelegten Schmuckkollektion fasziniert Patrik Muff vor allem die Zusammenarbeit mit Kunsthandwerkern
aus einem ihm bis dato fremden Bereich:
Die Porzellanherstellung verläuft vollkommen anders als das Schmieden von Schmuckstücken. So erfolgte etwa die Formgestaltung Schritt für Schritt in engster Zusammenarbeit mit den Meisterhandwerkern der Manufaktur – und, was nach wie vor eine technische Herausforderung in der Bearbeitung von Porzellan ist, in nur einem Stück. Das Resultat sind Anhänger in Form von Korallenzweigen, Engelsflügeln oder Kois: Sie vereinen die markante Formensprache des Münchner Schmuckdesigners mit den einzigartigen Materialqualitäten und der puren Schönheit des „weißen Goldes“.